Diabetes Blog Week 2015 – Day Six

2015 Diabetes Blog WeekI love the topic for today:

If you have been blogging for a while, what is your favorite sentence or blog post that you have ever written? Is it diabetes related or just life related?  If you are a new blogger and don’t have a favorite yet, tell us what motivated you to start sharing your story by writing a blog? 

The question prompted me to read back through my past posts – something I don’t often do. One that stood out to me was from last year’s Diabetes Blog Week. My “Tell Me a Story” post, written by my insulin pump, is one of my favorites because it captures the anxiety I felt about using a new device. Here are the first few paragraphs:

It’s funny now to think of how scared of me you were initially. When I arrived on your doorstep, you were cautious taking me out of the box. You had shaky hands as you picked me up and felt my buttons. I was hoping our friendship would start right then and there, but you tucked me away for training day, not quite ready to bond.

I sat in my dark box and counted down the days for our next meeting. Finally, the trainer arrived and I emerged again. How glorious it felt to get that jolt of battery energy and be primed for the very first time. You were hesitant as you prepared our first insulin cartridge and infusion set, but you did it. You were pumping! I wanted to yell, “You did great! Keep it up!”

I remember the excitement you felt when the trainer left that evening, but I also remember the fear. Even though it was three days off, you were terrified of changing our next infusion set. You were scared that I was going to accidentally give you too much insulin and you were going to have a devastating low. You were anxious about if you’d get used to being connected to me. “Don’t worry,” I wanted to tell you.

Intrigued? You can read the rest here.

*Read other Diabetes Blog Week Day Six entries here.

8 responses to “Diabetes Blog Week 2015 – Day Six

  1. I remember reading this last year and I loved it! Great choice!

  2. Wonderful post and unlike Kelley, I might have missed this last year. I always start Diabetes Blog Week thinking that I will read every post by every person, but it becomes impossible by the end of the week. I love the point of the view of your pump and I suspect my first pump had the same thoughts.

  3. Wow, I love the perspective you’ve taken with this post. Definitely a worthy choice for today’s dBlogWeek post 🙂

  4. LOVE THIS!!! How did I miss this originally? It’s fantastic and such a unique view 🙂 Extra smileys for this post 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

