Diabetes Blog Week 2015 – Day Three

2015 Diabetes Blog Week

It’s day three of Diabetes Blog Week and we’re in spring cleaning mode:

Clean It Out: Yesterday we kept stuff in, so today let’s clear stuff out.  What is in your diabetic closet that needs to be cleaned out?  This can be an actual physical belonging, or it can be something you’re mentally or emotionally hanging on to.  Why are you keeping it and why do you need to get rid of it? 

I’m going to focus on the physical here. One thing I would love to clean out is the constant mess of my diabetes supplies. As anyone with the disease knows, the number of boxes, gadgets, and sharp things lying around can be overwhelming. It feels like I constantly need to organize new supplies and discard used ones. While I have a decent system down, it is far cry from perfect. My used lancets make my meter case bulge, old infusion sets pile up until I take the time to remove the needle and recycle them, and test strips show up everywhere. Sometimes I just feel burdened by so. much. stuff.

A sampling of the supplies that weigh me down.

A (very small) sampling of the supplies that weigh me down.

Am I alone here? Does anyone have advice on how to stay on top of the endless supplies?

*Read other Diabetes Blog Week Day Three entries here.

3 responses to “Diabetes Blog Week 2015 – Day Three

  1. Yes! I wrote something similar so no advice, but it’s so hard to throw the stuff out for some reason!

  2. Not so sure about this one. You seem pretty organized to me!

Leave a Reply

