Diabetes Blog Week 2015 – Day Five

2015 Diabetes Blog Week

On day five of Diabetes Blog Week, we are writing about one of my favorite things: food. The prompt is:

Taking a cue from Adam Brown’s recent post, write a post documenting what you eat in a day!  Feel free to add links to recommended recipes/shops/whatever.  Make it an ideal day or a come-as-you-are day – no judgments either way.

I read Adam’s food posts recently and was surprised to see how similarly we eat. Below are some of my typical meals.

Breakfast

  • Yogurt and granola – Plain Greek yogurt with berries and nut granola (I LOVE this Grain Free Chocolate Granola from Delighted Momma).
  • Avocado toast – One piece of whole grain bread toasted and topped with half an avocado and a couple of fried or poached eggs.

Lunch

  • Roasted veggie bowl – Roasted veggies with a little brown rice or quinoa, and some kind of protein (often a poached egg). Roasted veggies are great because you can prepare a huge batch and use leftovers for days. I just toss raw vegetables with olive oil and sea salt, and then roast them in an oven set at 400 degrees.
  • Kitchen sink salad – A big bowl of salad greens with whatever else you have in your fridge – a variety of veggies (fresh or leftover roasted), nuts, cheese, and maybe a little fruit. The more items you add, the more interesting the salad. I make my own dressing with olive oil, balsamic and Dijon mustard.

Dinner

  • Roasted chicken and veggies – Roast chicken thighs (this is a delicious and super speedy rub), alongside veggies like cubed sweet potatoes and Brussels sprouts.
  • Stir-fry – Throw together bite-sized meat and loads of veggies, and serve with a little brown rice. Lately I’ve been making a cashew chicken recipe that I learned to make in Thailand.
  • Whole grain pasta – For a heartier meal, pair whole grain pasta with meat and veggies. I just made this New York Times recipe for whole grain mac and cheese with broccoli, and added ham.

Dessert

  • Dark chocolate – I love dark chocolate and usually have a square or two in the evening.

Snacks

Like Adam, I find that managing my blood sugar is easiest when I eat about 120 grams of carbs or less a day. I cook most of my meals myself, focus on whole foods, and always include protein. When I bake, I tend to use almond flour (see my recipe posts for a Chocolate Torte and Double Chocolate Cherry Cookies), which is low carb a has a very low glycemic index.

*Read other Diabetes Blog Week Day Five entries here.

6 responses to “Diabetes Blog Week 2015 – Day Five

  1. Love the concept of “kitchen sink” whatevers… seems like most of my meals are kitchen sink meals, made up of no rhyme or reason just what’s in my fridge and kitchen.

  2. I like your ideas for roasted veggies. A must try for me. I’ve been struggling to get inspired with my cooking lately. Thanks for the tips.

  3. I love dark chocolate too! I usually have dark chocolate truffles everyday (forgot to include that in my blog post because I ran out this week and forgot to buy more)

Leave a Reply

