Diabetes Blog Week 2015 – Day Two

2015 Diabetes Blog Week

Today’s Diabetes Blog Week prompt focuses on keeping things to ourselves:

Many of us share lots of aspects of our diabetes lives online for the world to see.  What are some of the aspects of diabetes that you choose to keep private from the internet?  Or from your family and friends?  Why is it important to keep it to yourself? 

I thought about this topic a lot, wondering what it is that I keep to myself when it comes to diabetes. Then it dawned on me: complications. While I want to be as informed as possible on the disease, talking about potential diabetes complications completely depresses me. Rather than motivate me to live a healthy life, the topic makes me want to throw in the towel. I also fear it would make others worry about or feel sorry for me in a way that I don’t think would be productive.

Who knows how I’ll feel about the topic down the road, but for now, I choose to stay quiet on complications.

*Read other Diabetes Blog Week Day Two entries here.

 


 

2 responses to “Diabetes Blog Week 2015 – Day Two

  1. Like you, I think that complications are the big unknown and not easy to talk about. At the same time I have the confidence that I will deal with whatever happens, although I definitely have a long list of things that I hope never happen.

Leave a Reply

