Day 3 of Diabetes Blog Week: One Thing to Improve

Yesterday we wrote about something diabetes-related that we do well. Today we’re fessing up with one thing we could improve on.

There are many things I could write about, but one that immediately comes to mind is my struggle with talking about diabetes with non-diabetes people. It’s really difficult for me to tell people (especially people I’ve just met or don’t know very well) that I have diabetes – even when I want to.

I don’t totally know why. It might be because diabetes is still pretty new to me, or maybe because I feel like I have an odd case of the disease. (It’s hard enough to explain type 1 and 2 to people, let alone type 1.5!) It doesn’t help that I’m a private person to begin with and tend to feel vulnerable when I share something so personal. I fear the assumptions and judgements that might come along with people knowing my secret.

Regardless, I’d really like to find a way to talk more openly about my experience with diabetes. It is a part of who I am and what drives me. Plus, the need for diabetes advocacy and education is great – and I’d like to contribute to both in any way I can.

7 responses to “Day 3 of Diabetes Blog Week: One Thing to Improve

  1. You inspire me, Katie! I’m so glad you shared your story with us and now I think about diabetes in a whole new way. Keep on doing what you do and know that your friends are here to support you along the way!

  2. Slightly off topic, but speaking of being a private person, do you remember that question that the girl with the camera tried to ask us at George’s walk after-party? Yikes!

  3. Welllll, because others had written about 1.5, they gave me clues about how to advocate for myself. So, there’s one reason to share.
    Sometimes it’s just not worth explaining to a non-d person. And sometimes, you get lucky and someone truly does want to know about your diabetes.
    Have a great week!

  4. I really enjoy your site! I am type 1.5 as well and it is so encouraging to see others go through similar struggles.

Leave a Reply

