Day 2 of Diabetes Blog Week: One Great Thing

Today’s Diabetes Blog Week prompt asks us to give ourselves credit for one diabetes-related thing we do well. I think this is a great topic given how easy it is to feel down about diabetes.

One thing I can pat myself on the back for is my commitment to exercise. I’ve always been really active, but with diabetes I’ve held myself to an even stricter schedule. Without exercising nearly every day, my blood sugar creeps up quickly.

When I was in L.A., I relied on canyon hikes, tennis, and pilates. This year in Boston, I’ve taken fitness classes through school and walked around the city like a maniac (a major plus of living without a car). While exercising doesn’t always result in perfect blood sugar readings, it makes it a heck of a lot easier to stay closer to my targets.

Hiking in L.A.

4 responses to “Day 2 of Diabetes Blog Week: One Great Thing

  1. I certainly admire you for that. I struggle with keeping exercise a regular part of my routine a lot – working 10 hour days at a desk does not help in that matter! Keep it up too – your body will thank you 🙂

  2. I wish a little of that motivation would rub off on me!

  3. I’m with Meri and Stacey D. I need some of your motivation. Ummm, read my post tomorrow…

  4. Did you know that the highest elevation in Florida is 345 feet above sea level? I miss the California foothills!

Leave a Reply

