The New Breakfast of Champions

I love breakfast. I love it so much that I often go to bed thinking about what I’m going to eat the next morning. And while I usually don’t stray far from my beloved cereal or oatmeal, sometimes I like to change things up. That’s why I was excited when my sister-in-law recommended Heidi Swanson’s Baked Oatmeal. I had just received Swanson’s Super Natural Every Day as a Christmas gift and was excited to jump in and try a recipe.

I made the oatmeal this weekend and can confirm that it lives up to my sister-in-law’s hype. The delicious mixture of golden oats, fruit and walnuts is the perfect way to start the day. I topped mine with plain Greek yogurt for added protein (I usually top oatmeal that way as it seems to help prevent a blood glucose spike). I tweaked the recipe slightly (including doing away with two bananas) to reduce the carb count. My version of the recipe is below.

If you haven’t seen Super Natural Every Day, I recommend checking it out. It’s a beautiful book filled with delicious-sounding dishes made from whole, natural ingredients.

Baked Oatmeal
Adapted from Super Natural Every Day by Heidi Swanson

2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup walnut pieces, toasted and chopped
1/3 cup maple syrup
1 teaspoon aluminum-free baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
Scant 1/2 teaspoon fine-grain sea salt
2 cups milk
1 large egg
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 cup blueberries

Set the oven at 375 degrees. Generously butter the inside of an 8-inch square baking dish.

In a bowl, mix together the oats, half the walnuts, baking power, cinnamon, and salt.

In another bowl, whisk together the maple syrup, milk, egg, half of the butter, and vanilla.

Sprinkle two-thirds of the berries in a single layer in the bottom of the prepared baking dish. Cover the berries with the oat mixture. Slowly drizzle the milk mixture over the oats. Gently shake the baking dish to make sure the milk moves through the oats. Scatter the remaining berries and walnuts across the top.

Bake for 35 to 45 minutes, until the top is golden and the oat mixture has set. Remove from the oven and let it cool for a few minutes. Drizzle the remaining melted butter on the top and serve.

Serves 6 generously, or 12 as part of a larger brunch spread.

5 responses to “The New Breakfast of Champions

  1. This sounds great I too love to eat oatmeal in the morning this would be a great new spin on my normal breakfast. Really great having a blog like this. Diabetes runs in my family on my mom’s side. My grandmother passed away from complications due to diabetes in 2009. I don’t have it but still monitor what I eat to make sure I don’t ever put myself at risk for developing Type 2 diabetes. Good luck on your journey. Stop by and say hi! http://saltpepperbrilliant.wordpress.com/

  2. wow, that sounds delicious. I host a book club brunch every few months and must add this to the rotation!

    btw, I’m a T1 living in Boston, too. 🙂 Found your blog via Six Until Me’s Blogroll.

    • So glad you found me, Kate! It’s always great to meet more PWD (especially when they’re in the same city!). A few of us in the area have organized a couple of diabetes meet-ups. We’ll definitely let you know when we plan another.

      Hope you enjoy the oatmeal! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Diabetes Blog Week Day 4: Accomplishments Big and Small | 1LittlePrick

Leave a Reply

