A Beantown Update

It wasn’t my intention to stop blogging when I started grad school. Between moving across the country and starting a full-time course load, though, I just haven’t found time to blog. Heck, I’ve hardly found time to shower (only halfway kidding).

Despite feeling stretched for time, things are going great. I started classes at the beginning of September and have been exhausting my brain daily ever since. My courses are fascinating – I’m studying everything from food policy to food marketing to the meanings of meat. And while being a full-time student has its challenges (including being expected to read more than seems humanly possible!), I’m finding it to be extremely rewarding. It’s so mentally stimulating to be back in the classroom focusing on a subject I love.

When I haven’t been studying, I’ve tried to take advantage of being in Boston. It’s amazing to have the opportunity to explore a new city – and sample all of the food it has to offer. It helps that I’ve had a number of visitors, including my parents and my boyfriend, who have wanted to see the sights. And it also helps that I’m living with my sister who forces me to take breaks from my books. I’m pleased to report that she and I have stumbled upon some amazing restaurants…and ice cream shops.

I’m hoping to get back into the swing of updating my blog more regularly again. I’ll have to add it to my to-do list…right after “take a shower.”

7 responses to “A Beantown Update

  1. It does sound like you are having a good time and learning a ton! But toss us a picture or an update when you can!

  2. A shower is always good though. HAHAHA! I am glad to hear you are doing good!

  3. We miss you!!! I hope you do continue to update the blog.
    And we need to schedule my trip…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

