My New Adventure

During D-Blog Week, diabetes bloggers were challenged to write a post about an awesome thing they have done because of the disease. I wrote about how one of the best things that resulted from my diagnosis is that it helped fuel my passion for food and nutrition. I mentioned in the post that I want to be an advocate for good food and promised to write more about a new opportunity I was exploring. Nearly three months after writing that post, I’m ready to spill the beans.

In less than three weeks I’ll be packing up my little apartment in LA and heading to Boston to start a full-time graduate program in food studies. After more than six years of working in communications, and having some wonderful opportunities to work on food, nutrition and wellness campaigns, I realized I want to focus my career on food. I want to excite and educate others about their food options, and help them make choices that are healthy for their bodies and the environment. The multidisciplinary program I’m enrolled in explores everything from anthropology of food to food policy to nutrition. As I read the syllabuses for my courses, I can’t help but get excited. These are topics I love.

Choosing to go back to school was not an easy decision. I am happy and settled in LA, where I’ve lived more than five years now. My boyfriend is here, my friends are here, my full-time job (you know, the one with good health insurance) is here. But, if diabetes has taught me anything, it’s that I need to seize the moment and live life to the fullest.

While my emotions have been jumping from excited (school!) to sad (long-distance relationships!) lately, I’m really looking forward to embarking on this new adventure. I’ll continue to share more about my transition in the next few weeks. In the meantime, please send me happy packing thoughts.

9 responses to “My New Adventure

  1. -Tim (Randombetic)

    turning dreams into reality… I’m excited for you!

  2. Sending happy packing thoughts! Someone is Boston is excited for your arrival 🙂

  3. Happy packing thoughts!
    Happy snowy winter!
    From a friend in NH.

  4. Ever since my daughter (almost 11) was diagnosed with type 1 on New Year’s Eve of this past year (Happy New Years to us-HA), I’ve been following your blog along with others in the blogosphere. You and all the others have even inspired me to start my own literary adventure at dontcallmesugar.com. I liked what you had to say about “seizing the day” 🙂 Happy packing thoughts (sweaters! boots!) and best of luck to you in Boston.

  5. sending happy packing thoughts (mittens, hats and scarves too!) 😉
    diabetes teaches us to follow our dreams!
    wishing you best of luck in Boston!

  6. What great news!!!! Congratulations! I hope you will be very happy here on the East Coast!

  7. Thanks for all the sweet comments and support! I can’t say I’ve made much progress packing this weekend, but I’ll be sure to throw in the winter clothes when I get down to business. 🙂

  8. So so excited for you!! Can’t wait to hear more 🙂

  9. Good luck in your new adventure!
    visit my blog at http://da-pump.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

