Another Recipe for D-Friendly Brownies

As many of you know, I love to bake and am always on the search for diabetic-friendly desserts. I posted a delicious recipe last summer for low-carb brownies, which has become my standby. I was intrigued when I came across a recipe for Black Bean Brownies on Heidi Swanson’s 101Cookbooks, though, and knew I needed to give it a try.

I know…black beans in brownies? It doesn’t sound good. But after reading Heidi’s positive review and many glowing comments, I thought it was worth a shot. The recipe is much healthier and lower-glycemic than most brownie recipes. It calls for no flour and agave nectar takes the place of sugar. And the beans add fiber and protein.

The result? Delicious. The brownies are really dense and fudgy with a hint of coffee. Curious to see if others liked them as much as I did, I brought some to work the next day. I told my coworkers they were healthier than most brownies, but didn’t share the secret ingredient right away. Everyone that tried the brownies gave them two thumbs up – and then were shocked to find out they contained beans. They all agreed they couldn’t taste them.

While I doubt I’ll make these every time I’m craving brownies, they’ll definitely be added to my rotation. I used a calculator to try to determine the nutritional data and was impressed with the results. One note, the database didn’t include agave nectar, so I substituted honey.

4 responses to “Another Recipe for D-Friendly Brownies

  1. Hey! I learned of Black Bean Brownies through a friend in book club. Not sure if the boxed brownie mix is compatible with your diet, but if you puree a can of black beans and add it to the dry mix of a box brownie that’s all you need. No oil, etc. Works like a charm and super yummy! 🙂

  2. I used to have a dietician that was a T1 as well and she would tell me that to her trying to make a great dessert or sweet without all the good stuff just gives us a mindset of eat more of it because it is healthier. She told me that why not just get the real deal and have a smaller serving size. I tried this phillosophy and it works great! Food should never be thought of as a bad thing just we need to know how much we can have of it.

    • Thanks for the comment, Dave! I agree with your dietician. I definitely don’t think we should deprive ourselves. Because I love to cook and bake, though, I do like to experiment with natural, whole ingredients to create dishes that don’t spike my blood sugar as much.

Leave a Reply

