Recent Kitchen Experiments

I’ve tried out a number of new recipes in the past week. My first experiment was whole wheat apricot scones. After tasting an amazing fruit and nut variety from Whole Foods, I searched the grocery chain’s website for a recipe and found this. I tweaked it slightly, adding walnuts, swapping agave nectar for honey and subbing Greek yogurt for buttermilk. The resulting scones were full of great texture and not overly sweet.

My overly sweet creation for the week was a No-Bake Strawberry Cheesecake. I needed something quick for a potluck Easter dinner and thought a fruit dessert would hit the spot. Even with making a homemade crust, the entire dessert was done in about 30 minutes (although it did need to chill in the fridge for a few hours). The potluck goers gave it rave reviews.

My last new recipe of the week was a savory one. After receiving a new Cooking Light, I decided to try the Ancho Chicken Tacos with Cilantro Slaw and Avocado Cream. The slaw and cream added awesome texture and fresh flavor to the tacos. Next time I’ll probably marinate and grill the chicken, as it lacked a little flavor as prepared. Otherwise, it was delicious – and perfect paired with a beer!

2 responses to “Recent Kitchen Experiments

  1. That strawberry cheesecake looks nom nommy! 😉 YUM!

Leave a Reply

