Feeling Calm

I’ve been thinking about how much more zen I’ve been feeling toward my personal experience with diabetes the past couple of months. (Maybe this is why my posts have been so infrequent.)

Part of it is that after more than a year of living with the disease, I have a better understanding of how my blood sugar reacts to food, exercise, sleep and illness. While I was already pretty routine pre-diabetes, I’m ridiculously predictable now when it comes to my eating, sleeping and working out schedule. And when I get off track, my blood sugar quickly reflects it.

Another thing I’ve learned is that there will be bad days, but they pass. While elevated numbers used to throw me into an immediate panic, a high reading now tends to result in me swearing under my breath and then moving on. This happened to me on Friday. I’d had a healthy salad for lunch that somehow spiked me to nearly 300. I spent the rest of the day in the 200s, which sucked, but it didn’t keep me from going out with friends and having a good time.

I have to admit, all in all my blood sugar has been behaving the past couple of months, which makes it easier to have a sunny outlook. I’m happy to be in a good place physically and mentally, though, and will definitely enjoy it while it lasts (hopefully for a very long time!).

4 responses to “Feeling Calm

  1. Happy to hear it! You’re doing such a great job. 🙂

  2. The number one skill I’ve learned from life with diabetes? Rolling with the punches. 🙂

Leave a Reply

