My D-Anniversary – When Things Started Looking Up

In my last few posts, I’ve shared the story of my diagnosis last year. Most of it has been pretty awful. I was in denial about the diagnosis and devastated by the way one doctor had treated me. Luckily, things turned up on February 11, 2010.

After online research and phone calls, I had my first appointment with an endocrinologist. While I’d heard good things about him, I was nervous going in. I knew I couldn’t handle another uncompassionate doctor who wouldn’t listen to me. When the endo came into the room, though, I quickly realized things were going to be different.

As I recounted the last couple of weeks in tears he handed me a box of tissues. He sat face-to-face with me for at least an hour talking about my medical history, as well as my personal life. While he was kind and compassionate, he also told me pretty sternly that I would have to start taking control of my situation. I had diabetes and I would need to learn how to live with it.  

The endo’s nurse took a number of blood samples to show how my pancreas was functioning. Then she taught me how to use the new blood glucose meter they had given me. Since Metformin was making me sick, the endo decided to put me on a different drug, Januvia. He also asked me how I felt about insulin shots and told me there was a chance I would have to start using them.  

As my appointment was wrapping up, I asked the endo if there was a chance I didn’t have diabetes. In the back of my mind, I still thought it had to be a big mistake. I remember him putting his hands on my shoulders and saying there was a .1 percent chance I didn’t. While it wasn’t what I wanted to hear, I finally realized that the diagnosis was real. I started to check my blood glucose at least four times a day, and for the first week, I called my endo every night with my numbers.

It’s hard to believe that I’ve now lived with diabetes for more than a year. While I still have plenty of moments where I feel sad and angry about the disease, I’m proud of myself for how well I’ve adjusted. Thanks to the support of my wonderful endo, who I continue to see every three months, plus my family, friends and the DOC, this adjustment has been made easier.

10 responses to “My D-Anniversary – When Things Started Looking Up

  1. I’m so glad you finally found a doctor who took the time to listen to you. I’m proud of you, sister, for how well you’ve adjusted to life with diabetes. Love you!

  2. My second last post I discuss my initial endo, in which I fired, so I hear ya, the journey for me in the beginning, sucked. Cheers!

    • I just read your post and am glad you fired that first endo. He sounded like a nightmare. That’s great that you were able to find such an awesome doctor after that. It makes a huge difference!

  3. I think the right endo makes all the difference. Glad you found one that you finally liked. I understand about the denial–sometimes I still go there, even after 5 years! I also think it’s one that takes constant readjustment. Good luck, and just know there are others going through the same thoughts and emotions. 🙂

  4. I think a period of grief after a diagnosis of diabetes is almost necessary. We have to go through the stages, and ultimately come out on the other side adjusted and strong.

  5. Hi Katie! Just stopping by, you haven’t blogged in a bit, just making sure you’re okay!
    Take care, blog soon.
    ~ Erika

    • Hi Erika, thanks for the sweet comment and for thinking of me. I’m here and doing well…I just haven’t been able to get myself to blog for awhile. I just posted tonight and hope to get back on track though. Hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

