Preparing to “Celebrate”

It’s hard to believe, but I’ll be “celebrating” the one-year anniversary of my diabetes diagnosis for the next couple of weeks. The celebration will stretch beyond one day because I had a number of medical appointments (beginning on Jan. 29) leading up to my acceptance of the diagnosis (on Feb. 11). I’ll share these experiences in the coming days.

In the meantime, I’m trying to deal with the range of emotions that any milestone brings about. And, I’m trying to come up with some appropriate ways to  mark my anniversary. Any ideas?

10 responses to “Preparing to “Celebrate”

  1. I’m not sure. Do something you are comfortable with. I think it’s different for everyone. The first year mark for Caleb was very solemn for me. I didn’t want to acknowledge it. It was still too raw and upsetting.

    • I can understand that. I’m not sure how I’ll feel on the actual day(s), but am sure there will be some negative feelings. I feel like I need to plan something fun to take my mind off of it.

  2. I’m a little further out from my diagnosis, but my favorite way to celebrate is still eating. It doesn’t exactly make sense, but it’s fun nonetheless.

    Happy diaversary, in any case!

  3. Celebrate all the wonderfulness that is you with family and friends – And have a cupcake!

  4. Since I was diagnosed as a small kid, we always celebrated. (That’s kind of easy when you’re D-day is July 4), but anyways, it was always my choice as to what we did. We went to amusement parks, whale watches, beaches, parties. And there is always fruit pizza 🙂

  5. My 3rd anniversary just passed, and I celebrated by drinking a “real latte” and having an Italian dinner. (loaded with carbs, just like the old days) I then reflected that after 3 years, I still do the same activities, and enjoy doing the same things, as before, I just happen to do them with insulin included. Yes, I spend a LOT of time thinking about my new “situation”, but hey, at least I can still eat carbs, whew (albeit fewer) ! I also reflected that I have learned how to correctly calculate what goes in my mouth, so my A1C stays =/- 7.2 – 6.9 Not bad. Pour me another glass of wine pleaze.
    I hope you have a good, enjoyable anniversary as well…

Leave a Reply

