Delicious Dishes

This may reveal my food nerdiness, but one of my favorite weekend activities is going to the farmers’ market and building menus based on the items I discover. I find that cooking is not only therapeutic, but also helps me feel more in control of my diabetes. 

This past weekend I picked up a variety of seasonal citrus, Asian pears, spinach, carrots and Swiss chard. I sautéed the chard with onions, garlic and chickpeas thanks to a recipe I found on Orangette. The dish was delicious, especially with the fresh lemon juice, and I served it with quinoa.

A day later, I used five cups of my fresh spinach in a dangerously good Smoked Gouda Mac and Cheese from Cooking Light. I served the pasta with braised carrots with butter and a drop of maple syrup, a recipe from Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything.” I’ve never prepared carrots that way and loved how the preparation brought out the vegetable’s natural sweetness. Yum.

4 responses to “Delicious Dishes

  1. Yum! I see this stuff and I wonder why I don’t take the time to go to the farmers market in our area. You have inspired me.

  2. Wow! You are amazing, Katie! This puts my grilled cheese sandwich dinner to shame:)

Leave a Reply

