D-Blog Day

Diabetes Blog Day was started in 2005 during Diabetes Awareness in Month to help unite bloggers and create awareness about the disease. This year’s topic is: six things you want people to know about diabetes. You can find other D-Blog Day entries here.

Six things I want people to know about diabetes:

  1. People with diabetes can eat sugar.
  2. People don’t get diabetes because they ate too much sugar.
  3. There are different types of diabetes, including Latent Autoimmune Diabetes in Adults, or LADA.  
  4. Diabetes is a lot of work, but thankfully is manageable. Many people with diabetes live long and healthy lives. That being said, I recommend being cautious in your use of the word “manageable” when speaking to people with diabetes.
  5. I also recommend being judicious with the word “control” as it relates to diabetes. I hate being asked if my diabetes is “under control,” because if I’ve had a rough blood sugar day(s) and have to say no, it makes me feel like it’s my fault.  
  6. The diabetic online community is one of the most friendly, helpful and supportive groups around. I’m thankful to have so many amazing d-peeps a tweet away.
10 responses to “D-Blog Day

  1. I LOVE your number six. No exaggeration…the tudiabetes.com community saved my life. Serious.

    And I love your blog title. I’m glad I found your site.

  2. Great list, the first two really chap my hide!

  3. Agreed…six times. you wouldn’t believe the comments you get as the mother of a two year old with diabetes…lots of blame. Sometimes it takes all my energy to not respond as I’d truly like.
    I hope you’ve found a great network because adults like you with insulin dependent diabetes can make a great impact on the diabetes community. Many people learn a great deal from seeing that their children will be “okay” despite the dismal diagnosis of a chronic medical condition.
    Thanks for sharing your six things.

    • Thanks for the nice comment, Sarah. In my almost one year living with diabetes, I’ve been shocked by how many misconceptions are out there. We definitely have a lot of educating to do!

  4. Great posts lately! You’re helping me learn a lot about diabetes in general, and also how I can be more sensitive to people who are living with it! Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

