No D-Day

I’ve only been blogging since March and my posts are often focused on one thing. So I thought I’d take advantage of No D-Day and share a few things about myself.  

  • I grew up on a farm in Minnesota. In the past ten years, I’ve lived in South Dakota, New York and California. Minnesota is my favorite.
  • Growing up, I spent weeks away at summer camps (recreation camps, music camps, culture camps, sports camps). At a German language camp after third grade I went by “Kathe Libelle” and spoke (almost) no English for a week.
  • I can do a mean impression of Stitch from Disney’s “Lilo & Stitch.” I’m convinced it’s what made my boyfriend fall in love with me.
  • I took piano lessons for 12 years and hope a piano will be my next major purchase.
  • I love good food and believe that every meal is an experience that should be savored and enjoyed. I try to follow the whole food approach and eat as locally as possible.  
  • I believe in regularly pushing myself outside of my comfort zone. This belief recently landed me in improv classes.
  • I love to travel and have a brighter outlook on life when I have trips on my calendar. My sister and I took an amazing trip to Southeast Asia this summer where we rode elephants, visited ancient ruins and nearly got lost trying to get to a remote island.
4 responses to “No D-Day

  1. That’s so weird to think about going to a bunch of different camps. Since I was 5 when I was diagnosed, I went to the same diabetes camp my whole childhood. One summer, my mom made me go to two diabetes camps so I could try a different one, and I didn’t like it.

    I also love to travel, and will take any excuse to do it – like a cross-country ninja party, for example – but since I’m one to stay closer to my comfort zone, my travels are a lot less exotic. Although if that elephant took me to a beach with some diet soda, I might try it out!

    • That’s great that you had a camp you loved and went to every year. I wish I could go back to summer camp sometimes! I’m glad you love travel and were willing to trek across the country for a ninja-party!

  2. Where in NY did you live? I’m just curious since that’s where I am from 😉 And your trip to Asia sounds like quite an experience! I love traveling too although hubby + I typically stick to tropical locations 🙂

Leave a Reply

