Team Ninjabetic

Yesterday my boyfriend and I participated in JDRF’s Walk to Cure Diabetes with Team Ninjabetic. It was an incredible experience and I don’t know if I can do it justice in a single blog post.

As the team gathered before the walk, I got the chance to meet other people with diabetes who I’ve gotten to know online the past few months. For the first time, I was face to face with people who I’ve connected with on Twitter and whose blogs I’ve read, learned from and commented on. Let me tell you, the people in the diabetic online community are just as awesome and supportive in person as they are online.

After the walk, the team headed to a nearby park for George’s party. As I mentioned a couple of week ago, yesterday was George’s 20 year anniversary of being diagnosed and he threw a party to celebrate the fight. The celebration included an incredible musical performance of “Not by Choice,” accompanied by a slideshow of people in the DOC who couldn’t make the walk. The awesome Sara Knicks shared a video of the performance on her blog. Check it out – it’s really powerful.

As my boyfriend and I left George’s party and walked to my car, I got choked up. I was overcome with emotion thinking about the incredible people I’d just bonded with and knowing it was this awful disease that had brought us all together. There have been so many times in the past eight months that I’ve been angry and down about diabetes, but suddenly I was thankful for the people who were brought into my life because of my deficient pancreas.

I want to give a huge thanks to George for organizing the team and encouraging me to participate. I was honored to fight for a cure with him. Also, a huge thanks goes to my walking partner, my boyfriend, who has been an amazing type 3.

14 responses to “Team Ninjabetic

  1. Awesome! I have chills. I can’t wait to hear more and more. Sara’s video was great!

  2. I saw Sara’s video post. I so wish I could have been there. I got choked up just watching.

  3. I have chills, too, reading this and watching Sara’s video and seeing all the photos posted by the Team Ninjabetic crew this weekend! An amazing life-changing group, indeed. Glad you had a great time, and thank you for sharing some of that here! See you around the DOC universe!

  4. Katie, I am so glad that you and your boyfriend came and helped us celebrate George and all of the magical friendships he has helped us all find. My only regret is that we didn’t have MORE time to hang out and visit.

    You guys are fabulous, and I hope that you will get together with George as often as you can. If you or your boyfriend ever find yourselves in the Twin Cities, MN area, I hope you’ll oet me know too. 🙂

  5. Thanks for all of the comments. Mike and Cara, I wish you could have been there too! Scott, it was so great meeting and celebrating George’s day with you! I look forward to seeing you again in Southern California or the Twin Cities soon.

  6. Katie – so glad that you and others could make it out to the JDRF walk – and then George’s 20th D-anniversary later. It’s great that you could all get together – and maybe all we folks within the D-OC’s that are close by to each other can do little things from time to time. I’m trying to get a group of D1’s here to meet in Montreal and areas close by with the help of 1DiseaseWorldVoice. Though I might wait until 2012 – to gather more D-troops (we’re shy here in Canada) – then it’ll be 45 years that I’ve been living the high roller life of a diabetic .

  7. Thanks, Anna! It’s great to get everyone together. I’m so thankful for the online community, but it’s even more powerful to be face to face with others who share this disease. I hope you can organize a meet up in Montreal.

  8. It is hard to read these posts without falling apart.

    It was SO GREAT meeting you and your boyfriend. I hope we can meet up now and then. Meetups are the best and like I said at the party, It’s all about support as far as I am concerned.

    Take care!!!

  9. You’re not kidding about your tendency to go outside your comfort zone – meeting up with a bunch of nutty diabetics when you’re still so new to D. I don’t think I’d be so brave, but I’m glad you were because I loved meeting you. Hopefully it won’t be our last opportunity since I have a compulsion to find reasons to visit SoCal 🙂

  10. Pingback: Diabetes Blog Week Day 3: Memories | 1LittlePrick

Leave a Reply

