Crispy Kale Recipe

I’m hooked on a new kale recipe thanks to a dear friend. She’d raved about it for months then actually made it for me a couple of weeks ago. The recipe, Crispy Kale and Tofu Salad with Coconut, was created by 101 Cookbooks’ Heidi Swanson and published on the Food & Wine website. The dish is really simple to make – you toss kale and tofu with olive oil, soy sauce, toasted sesame oil and unsweetened coconut flakes, then bake it till crispy and serve with brown rice – and absolutely delicious. The flavors blend wonderfully and produce a really healthy, but hearty meal.

I was excited to make the dish myself, but a little nervous about the brown rice. (My friend and I had red wine with the meal, so I wasn’t really sure how the rice had affected my blood sugar.) I’ve had semi-negative feelings toward it since my diagnosis began with a reading of more than 300 following a lunch of vegetables and brown rice. Of course the blame falls more to my pancreas than the rice, but it still brings back bad memories.

The good news is that despite my fears about the rice, my blood sugar readings were great following the delicious kale creation (and the subsequent leftover meals). This is definitely going to be a staple.

2 responses to “Crispy Kale Recipe

  1. It still amazes me how foods can work great for some PWDs and be a train-wreck for others. I know most diabetics have issues with pasta, but I do fine with that. But oatmeal, even the steal-cut kind, will send my bgs soaring every time.

    In the end, I guess it really is all just trial and error. I find brown rice is better on my blood sugar than white rice, but neither seem to cause me much of a problem. Give it a try (eliminating other factors like red wine if you can) and test a lot and see what happens. 🙂

    (Boy do I sound bossy in this comment!!)

  2. It is really interesting that foods affect us so differently. I’m a little envious that you don’t have trouble with pasta! All of my meals are definitely still trial and error. Thanks for the comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

