Ninja Walkin’

I’d been hoping to sign up for one of JDRF’s Walk to Cure Diabetes and am excited to announce that I am now officially a member of Team Ninjabetic. George Simmons, Ninjabetic blogger, type 1 and fellow Southern Californian, formed the team for the October 2nd walk in Ontario, California. Not only are we walking for a cure, but we are celebrating George’s 20 year anniversary of being diagnosed. As he says on the team’s page, “It is not easy to want to celebrate 20 years of having a disease but with your help, it will be a celebration of fighting for my life and the life of others.”

There are a number of people in the DOC who are planning to join the team. Some are even flying in for the walk, like the awesome Minnesotan Scott Johnson. I’m really excited to be part of the event, have the chance to meet other diabetics and help George celebrate his anniversary.

What’s so amazing about all of this is that it reminds me what a huge support system I have in the DOC. If it weren’t for the internet, I never would have connected with so many diabetics so quickly. They’ve provided great tips, ideas and resources – and now an awesome Walk to Cure Diabetes Team. Go Team Ninjabetic!

4 responses to “Ninja Walkin’

  1. I am so excited! This is going to be so much fun!!

  2. Oh how awesome that you will be able to walk with George’s team!!! I was really hoping to be able to make the (long) trip out, but it didn’t work out. 😦 I’ll be with you guys in spirit though!

Leave a Reply

