Diabetes, I Don’t Get You

I was planning to write a blog post early last week about the unexpected blood sugar lows I’d been experiencing. And many times in the past I’ve considered writing about frustrating highs. Now I’ve decided to write about my surprisingly well-behaved diabetes.

According to all of the advice I’ve been given, I shouldn’t be having a good D-week. I’ve eaten a lot of baked goods (thanks to my boyfriend bringing home amazing cookies from work), enjoyed stadium food at two baseball games and haven’t exercised as much as usual since summer finally hit LA. And yet, my blood sugar levels have been nearly perfect. Despite my bad behavior, I’ve had some of my best, most steady readings in months.

Although I’ve lived with diabetes for nearly seven months now, I still have plenty of moments of denial. This week has been full of “do I really have diabetes?” moments – especially after chowing down on dessert only to have a normal reading a couple of hours later.

Some days I get walloped by an awful low an hour after eating a bowl of fruit. Other days I’m hit with high blood sugar and can’t figure out the culprit. So why is it that when I don’t give a damn and eat what I want, my blood sugar is fine?

Believe me, I’m not complaining. I’m just a little dumbfounded.

4 responses to “Diabetes, I Don’t Get You

  1. Chronic illness bites. (Sorry.) It just that it does sometimes.

    I think often it’s that long look backward that gives me the most insight. It’s usually easy for me to quickly figure out what created a health low; it can take longer for me to see the how and why of a stable or a strong health period.

    I admire you and the way you are sharing your journey.

  2. It definitely bites. Thanks for your kind comment.

  3. Yeah, I’ve had The D for over 30 years and I still can’t figure it out sometimes. I think it just likes to mess with us so we will think it is the boss. WRONG!!

Leave a Reply

