Kicking It Up A Notch

I cancelled my gym membership when I moved to my current apartment two and a half years ago. I needed to save money and was moving near a great hiking trail, so it seemed like an easy thing to cut.

While I have a pretty good routine down – hiking a few times a week, plus doing pilates and exercises with hand weights at home – I’ve felt a little stuck in a rut lately. To kick things up a notch, I decided to add a few sprint intervals to my hour-long hike over the weekend. I felt a little silly as I attempted to run uphill, but definitely could feel a difference in the way I felt during and after the workout. My heart rate was higher, my forehead sweatier and my legs sorer.

I’m going to try to continue to add sprints to my hikes and would love to come up with other simple ways to amp up my workouts. Any ideas? 

 

4 responses to “Kicking It Up A Notch

  1. There are a bunch of things you can do at home with hand weights and an exercise ball that will totally spice things up. Anytime you can engage your core (i.e. sitting on the ball/ using the ball as a platform) and do some lifting with it will totally make your workout a bit tougher. If you have a chance google Nxt Training – Eric Orton; he’s my tri coach and has some great exercises like that.

  2. Thanks for the tips! I’ve held off on getting an exercise ball because my apartment is so small, but maybe I’ll reconsider.

  3. I use a mini-trampoline. You’d think it wouldn’t be hard, but it is serious cardio that will kick your behind after a few minutes. I jog on it, and do jumping jacks and scissors legs.

    (I store it by leaning it against a wall legs out, with my step bench and yoga mat in between the legs. It’s a 3 foot circle, 9″ deep. It doesn’t feel like it takes up a lot of physical space.)

Leave a Reply

