A Sweet Potato D-Feast

As I mentioned a couple of weeks ago, I’m excited that I’m getting some opportunities to combine my love of food and newfound diabetes knowledge at work. One of the accounts I’m lending a hand to is the North Carolina Sweet Potato Commission. Yesterday, I debuted as a guest blogger on the organization’s Sweet Bytes Blog and shared a recipe for a roasted sweet potato salad with grilled chicken and candied pecans. Yum!

After posting to the Sweet Bytes Blog, I logged onto Twitter to learn that a few awesome ladies in the DOC had come up with the idea of D-Feast Friday. The purpose of D-Feast was to encourage diabetic bloggers to share their favorite recipes in one spot, on one day. I immediately added my roasted sweet potato salad to the mix. It was fun to watch as the recipe list grew and the #DFeast conversation on Twitter heated up.

As a few of my d-friends and I swapped recipes (including a delicious sounding one for sweet potato burritos), we talked about starting a video dish pass. While we were halfway joking, I wouldn’t be surprised if that’s next. I’m in!

5 responses to “A Sweet Potato D-Feast

  1. Okay, this is way too exciting for me. I always stalk the sweet potatoes at the grocery store, but I never buy any because I don’t know what to do with them.

    Thanks!

  2. Can’t wait to try your #dfeast recipe! Tonight my 12-year-old son and I are going to replicate a Chopped episode. Sweet potatoes are part of the appetizer basket (along with knockwurst, almond butter, and watermelon). Wish us luck!

  3. I love sweet potatoes – and am learning a bunch of new ways to eat them. Yum!

Leave a Reply

