A1C-Mazing!

Since my endo appointment last week, I’ve been waiting impatiently for my lab results. I finally got a call from my endo last night – and the results were better than I ever could have imagined. My A1C was 5.8! I think my jaw may have actually dropped to the floor when I heard.

For those of you that don’t know, the A1C measures your average blood sugar over the past three months. For “normal” people, the range is between 4 and 6 percent. Someone is diagnosed with diabetes when their A1C is 6.5 or higher. When I was diagnosed back in January, mine was 7.2. It’s dropped 1.4 points in six months!

I’ve worked hard to manage my blood sugar since my diagnosis, carefully monitoring my diet and regularly exercising. While my daily readings have tended to be pretty good the past few months, that hasn’t always calmed my anxiety. Hearing that my A1C was 5.8 does, though. Now I feel like I can actually heed my endo’s advice to not worry so much.

4 responses to “A1C-Mazing!

  1. AWESOME!! WOOHOO!

  2. Yay! Congrats sister!

  3. Way to go! That is really great!

Leave a Reply

