My Doctor’s Advice: Don’t Worry So Much

I had a check-up with my endocrinologist this afternoon. I hadn’t seen him in three months and my eyes started to water a bit when I began updating him. I always get hit with emotion when I visit my endo (he’s used to handing me tissues). Maybe because my diabetes seems so real when I’m in his office.

After grilling me with the usual questions and reviewing my meter log, he told me I’m doing great. His biggest message to me? Don’t worry so much. He can tell I beat myself up and get anxious over spikes, and  suggested that I look at my overall readings from time to time to remind myself that the majority of them are in range. Because I’m continuing to have high readings before bed, he recommended that I cut back on carbs at dinner (ugh). I need to come up with more creative low-carb meals, so please let me know if you have any ideas.

I should have the results of my A1C test early next week. Since the only other A1C I’ve had done was back in January, I’m anxious to see the results.

10 responses to “My Doctor’s Advice: Don’t Worry So Much

  1. This post shows me two things. You care and your Endo cares about you. Not everyone is lucky to have an endo that tells you to try not to worry so much. It’s usually the opposite or they show no emotion.

    Deep breath and enjoy your weekend!!

  2. Sounds like you have a lovely endo. I hope the results are what you’re looking for and you found some encouragement in your endo’s words. 🙂

  3. I’m glad your endo is so great! It’s wonderful to be able to have one who is more encouraging than accusatory. It’s so easy to get down on yourself about all things d-related, we all do it. 🙂

    Hope your A1c brings back something positive.

  4. My primary care physician told me the same thing the last time I saw him, and I kind of fell in love with him at that moment.

    It’s amazing how much better it can feel when someone gives you permission to not beat yourself up.

  5. I know (from personal experience) that beating yourself up can be mentally and physically draining…so I hope you are really able to let go of that as the weeks go on. Easier said than done, I know.

    Do you like spinach? One of my favorite dinners these days is spinach sauteed in olive oil with rosemary. I’ll have it over greek yogurt or hummus (or both) with roasted red peppers, garlicky tomatoes, pesto, whatever I happen to have around. You should try it….it’s tasty, satisfying and easy:)

  6. Thanks, Emily! The spinach idea sounds great! I love meals like that.

Leave a Reply

