Burger Fail

My boyfriend and I finally got the chance to try the Apple Pan over the weekend. The old school lunch-counter diner is an LA institution, known for its steakburgers and homemade apple pie. (LA Weekly’s Jonathan Gold even named Apple Pan’s Hickory Burger as one of the 99  things to eat in LA before you die!)

We both ordered the restaurant’s famous steakburger with cheese. My boyfriend also got an order of fries for good measure. I gobbled up my burger, thoroughly enjoying the pickles, relish and Tillamook cheese, and sampled a few fries. The food didn’t disappoint. We both wanted to try the apple pie, but with full stomachs and my blood sugar in mind, we decided to hold off for another visit.

While I knew my dinner wasn’t exactly health food, I didn’t expect it to wreak such havoc on my blood sugar. But more than three hours after the meal, my BG was 220. I was so annoyed. One of my favorite things to do is sample new food and try out new restaurants, but spikes like that take a lot of fun out of the experience.

4 responses to “Burger Fail

  1. So I know you try to control your bs, but dang 220 isn’t horrible. It could have been worse 😉 just trying to find that silver lining for you.

    Man I miss Tillamook. Black wrapper sharp cheddar…the BEST!

  2. Thanks for the comment, Renata! I know it’s not that high, but it was definitely frustrating when I wasn’t expecting it.

    I wish I could send you some Tillamook! 🙂

  3. I think that living with diabetes is all about trial and error. 220 is not bad, and you can surely figure out a way to make that meal work for you. Just means you’ll need to eat it a few more times! 🙂

    • Yeah, you’re right. I think I was just upset because it caught me off guard. I hadn’t expected to be high after it. Like you said, I’ll just have to try eating it again (it is one of LA’s best meals afterall). 🙂

Leave a Reply

