When Life Gives You Lemons…

I don’t really like the saying “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” While I appreciate the optimism in the phrase, I hate being told to find the “silver living” when I’m still in the middle of dealing with the thunderstorm. That being said, I actually feel like I’m in the process of making lemonade out of the diabetic lemons I’ve been given. 

I work at a great PR agency with a lot of cool food accounts. Because of my background and interest in food, I’d been hoping to have the chance to segue into more food-focused projects. It seems that my newfound knowledge in diabetes will help give me that chance. 

Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve been asked to join brainstorms and help with projects specifically related to diabetes for food clients. The work excites me, both because I’m passionate about food and because I’m now personally immersed in the world of diabetes. It’s thrilling to have the opportunity to utilize my background and personal interests at work. 

I feel like this is just the beginning of a new journey and I’m sure I’ll have more to share over the next few weeks. Who would have thought that a diabetes diagnosis could result in such sweet lemonade?

6 responses to “When Life Gives You Lemons…

  1. Sounds like you got some good in the bad. 🙂

  2. Definitely. It’s funny how life works out. 🙂

  3. They’d be crazy not to take full advantage of your wisdom and insight. It’s great that you are enthusiastic about sharing all that you’ve learned in the last 6 months. Keep making that lemonade!

  4. Thanks, Emily! I’m looking forward to diving in.

  5. Pingback: A Sweet Potato D-Feast « 1LittlePrick

Leave a Reply

