A Wonderful Weekend

I had the surprise of a lifetime on Friday evening. When I walked into a wine bar to supposedly meet my boyfriend for happy hour, two of my best friends from college, who now live in Minneapolis and Milwaukee, were there. They worked with my boyfriend for months to orchestrate the surprise visit, coordinating every detail from buying plane tickets that worked around my schedule, to finding a bar near my apartment and convincing me to leave work  at 5 p.m.  

The three of us don’t see each other often, and don’t even talk on the phone all that much, but every time we get together we pick up right where we left off. Our friendship began in a freshman dorm nearly ten years ago, where we immediately bonded over popcorn and M&M’s. Fifty years from now, I know we’ll still be close. 

Our weekend was full of talking and laughing over red wine and delicious food. We caught up on our personal lives, reminisced about the past and laughed so hard we were tears numerous times. It was the first time we’d all been together since my diagnosis, and they asked a lot of questions about the adjustments I’ve had to make. And like true friends, they listened as I vented about how much diabetes just plain sucks sometimes. 

It was a wonderful weekend visit and made me realize all over again how blessed I am to have such loving and supportive friends.

Leave a Reply

