Sugar Envy

Since I’m admitting to negative feelings this week, I’m going to add one more to the list: envy. Lately, I can’t help but feel a bit jealous of people who eat, exercise and live without worrying about their blood sugar.

For example, envy hit me after I attended a wedding this weekend. Thinking ahead to dessert (as I always do), I made an effort to eat a low-carb dinner and filled my plate with veggies and a filet mignon. When the gorgeous desserts appeared later in the evening, I helped myself to a mini coconut cream cupcake and brownie. Since I’d watched my carbs, plus had a glass of red wine and hit the dance floor, I figured I’d be ok. But a few hours later, when my blood sugar was high, I thought about all of the other wedding guests who’d indulged, and was hit with envy. As they bit into the sugary deliciousness of red velvet cake, lemon bars and cream cheese tarts, the thought of blood sugar probably never crossed their mind.

I know this kind of thinking isn’t productive. I also know that while I may feel like the only one in the room constantly thinking about my health, there certainly are others. It’s just easy to forget that rational thought when frosting is on my mind.

4 responses to “Sugar Envy

  1. Aw, I’m sorry! I guess I never really thought of that. But I hear you – frosting (and ice cream) is pretty much ALWAYS on my mind! 🙂

  2. Haha, I know! I can eat healthy otherwise, but I need my dessert. 🙂

  3. That kind of thinking may not be productive – but I think it’s completely normal!!!! Seeing so many others go through life without a worry about carbs and sugar while they take it for granted – how could we not have moments of jealousy. But then again, they aren’t nearly as strong and on top of things as we are!! 🙂

  4. Karen, I love the way you look at it! We are strong! (I’m also glad to hear I’m not the only one that feels jealous sometimes!)

Leave a Reply

