To Carb or Not to Carb

It’s day four of Diabetes Blog Week. Today we’re talking about carbs – if we eat them or not. Counting carbs has been one of the biggest adjustments for me. I had always eaten a pretty healthy diet, focusing on fresh, whole foods and staying away from processed junk, but I never spent much time paying attention to carbs. I thought it was silly when people got so caught up on things like that (hello, Atkins diet). Of course, now I’m caught up on things like that.

The nurse at my endocrinologist’s office gave me a carb counting book the first time I visited. As I flipped through it later at home, my heart sank. A banana has 28  grams of carbs?  A half a cup of ice cream (and who really has half a cup?) has 22? How in the world would I keep my blood sugar down?

I still have a lot to learn when it comes to counting carbs, but I’m slowly getting better at thinking about the number I’m consuming at each meal and snack. I’m also trying to pay attention to which specific foods spike my blood sugar. Unfortunately, ice cream seems to be one that does, so I’m trying to stick to that ridiculously small half a cup serving size.

3 responses to “To Carb or Not to Carb

  1. Hi there. I’m sure I seem like a lunatic to come out of nowhere and comment on all your blog posts. I’ve been taken over by this DBW and have made it my mission to get through each and every one! I can tell yours will be a new favorite.

    Anyhoo…

    I can share that I find that healthy (non-processed) foods are usually very friendly to Caleb’s blood sugar, so I think you are off to a great start with your already established eating habits (good for you). And as far as ice cream, well Caleb doesn’t spike from it (and I agree who eats half a cup, except my kids at least) but it is a problem food bc of the fat content which makes it last in his system forever resulting in highs. A great alternative we find is frozen yogurt. For Caleb at least there are no spikes and it’s out of his system like other foods and matches with his insulin nicely. There’s lots of variety these days too, so it’s not like anyone is missing out on anything. 🙂

  2. I appreciate all of your comments! Thanks for sharing your insights and ideas. I love that DBW connected so many people. 🙂

  3. Me too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

