Making the Low Go

It’s day two of Diabetes Blog Week and the topic is treating low blood sugar. I find it kind of funny that I’m eating a bowl of ice cream as I write this.

Since I’m fairly new to the diabetes game, I’m still looking for tips on ways to treat lows. (I’m definitely planning to steal some ideas from all of the other D-bloggers writing about this today.) I’ve tended to treat my lows with things like fruit, soda and granola bars. Over the weekend, I had a low as I waiting for my brunch order to arrive at a restaurant and popped a few Smarties. It didn’t feel like the healthiest choice, but it certainly did the trick.

3 responses to “Making the Low Go

  1. Smarties are a good choice, imo. (considering I like my Swiss Cake Rolls, ha)

    All that matters is it works for You.

  2. I kind of smirked about you eating ice cream while writing this. That is pretty awesome! 🙂

    Smarties are fine – I mean, when it comes down to it, whatever raises your blood sugar and is available will do the trick!

    I do think that glucose tabs are designed to be quicker than a lot of things out there, but it’s a matter of whether you have them with you or not.

  3. I bet you got a lot of ideas. There are some healthier options. Caleb will eat dried apricots and raisins often. Crackers also seem better than Skittles or the like. But sometimes it’s not such a bad thing to to have an excuse to have a treat now and then. 🙂

Leave a Reply

