A Day in the Life

I’m excited to be participating in Diabetes Blog Week. The week was the idea of Karen at Bitter-Sweet Diabetes Blog and includes a post a day on a topic related to life with diabetes. The first post is on a day in the life…with diabetes.

One of the things I’ve learned is that there is no typical day in the life of a diabetic. That being said, today I:

  • Started my day with a finger prick. I test my blood sugar at least four times a day (before breakfast, lunch, dinner and bed), plus more when my levels are wacky.
  • Packed lunch and snacks for my day at work, being mindful of the number of carbs I would consume. I threw in two pieces of fruit for my morning and afternoon snack (my endo’s recommendation to help me avoid low blood sugar).
  • Ran to the grocery store after work to find something quick and healthy to make for dinner. I settled on asparagus and a pesto chicken pizza on whole wheat crust. As I was making the pizza, I could feel my blood sugar starting to dip. It was at 72, so I had a piece of watermelon to tide me over until dinner.
  • Spent time on the phone with my health insurance trying to get them to give me an early refill on my medications since I’m about to leave the country for two weeks. They aren’t making it easy.
  • Tried desperately to come up with clever content for my blog after a long day. Thank goodness I have Diabetes Blog Week giving me prompts.
3 responses to “A Day in the Life

  1. Karen de Groot

    Honest and real- two things that are great about you! Congratulations on living with diabetes with courage, humor and a smile (and lots of snacks!). Keep the entries coming!

  2. Ditto what Karen said! Honest & real make for great stuff. 🙂

  3. I want the recipe for that pizza – sounds so good and so healthy!

Leave a Reply

