Taking the Fear Out of Travel

When I was diagnosed with diabetes this past January, one of the first things I thought about was how my travel plans would be affected. Not only was I boarding a plane for a business trip the very next day, but I also was planning a spring trip to Thailand.  

My business trip turned out to be pretty awful. I was in complete shock about my diagnosis and really didn’t know anything about diabetes at that point. To make matters worse, I had a long, scary list of directions on when to go to the emergency room from my doctor.

In the weeks following my diagnosis, I started reading a lot online about traveling with diabetes. Similar to the “emergency room list” I carried with me on my business trip, many of the articles I came across were full of overwhelming advice. Not only would I need to pack extra medication, testing supplies and glucose tablets, but I also would need to inform practically everyone I encountered that I am diabetic, learn how to say “I need sugar” in various foreign languages and check my feet daily for possible infections.  After reading tips like that I wondered how in the world I would travel to Southeast Asia alone with this scary new disease.

I now know that those articles don’t say everything they should. There are a lot of things that diabetics need to think about and prepare for when traveling, but it’s also important to remember that we can lead normal lives and take awesome trips. And that’s exactly what I intend to do in 13 days.

6 responses to “Taking the Fear Out of Travel

  1. Yay! I can’t wait to see your shining face in Thailand!

  2. I can’t wait to be there with you! I can’t believe it’s only 12 days away now (well, 13 until I actually see you).

  3. Thailand? That’s so exciting! I went to China a few years ago. The hardest about about dealing with diabetes on that trip, was the drastic time change and the food! It was really hard to know what was in the food and how to bolus for it. Good luck and have fun!

  4. Thanks…I can’t wait! I’m hoping my body adjusts to the time change fairly quickly. That’s awesome that you went to China!

  5. Jenna and I were talking about how that must be difficult for you to plan/factor in to travel. So excited for you – take a bazillion pictures!

    One of my fav Jamaica moments was when going thru security they asked Patti what her insulin pump was, and said they had to see where it lead. It was hosted basically in her butt, so she had to pull her pant cheek down in the middle of security! 🙂

  6. With a little bit of extra planning for backup supplies, anything is possible. Maybe you can think about writing some of the stuff you didn’t find when you were looking? You know, have it out there for the next person in that same situation?

    I’m chuckling about the comment above with Patti having to drop trow at the security point. Heheheh.

Leave a Reply

