Katie and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

When I was in elementary school, I had a class assignment to write my own version of Judith Viorst’s “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.” I’m pretty confident that yesterday beat my original version (which I believe involved a “disgusting” breakfast and fight with my brother).

Starting at 12 a.m., yesterday included:

  • An endless bloody nose that came on just as I was turning off my bedside lamp.
  • An automated call from my bank at 6 a.m. to remind me to shred my debit card that had been “compromised.”
  • A three-mile, hour-long commute to work thanks to road construction.
  • A high-stress day at work full of back-and-forth dilemmas with clients.
  • A letter from my accountant stating that she hoped the delay on my tax information didn’t cause any problems (it did…my taxes are late).
  • Hypoglycemia halfway through my canyon hike with no sugar in my pocket.
  • A trip over my computer cord, followed by a face-first fall to the floor (by both my computer and me).

As I was on the floor next to my upside down computer, I busted out laughing like a crazy woman. It had been such a bad day and every time I asked myself what else could go wrong, something else did. I knew I had no choice but to laugh at the absurdity of it all. After all, other than a tax penalty, I made it through without any serious complications or tragedies (thankfully, my computer did too).

One response to “Katie and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

  1. Oh Katie! I had to laugh though because I literally almost used that title to write a blog post after my day last Tuesday. I wonder if I had the same writing assignment in elementary! I’m glad you made it through the day and with a good attitude at the end of it all!

Leave a Reply

