Go, Pancreas, Go!

When I saw my endo the other day, he said again that he thinks my case is interesting in that I don’t clearly fall into the type 1 or 2 bucket. As I’ve mentioned before, he suspects I may have what’s called type 1.5, or slow onset type 1. Type 1 is an autoimmune disease in which the body’s  immune system destroys insulin-producing cells in the pancreas. Because of this, type 1 diabetics are insulin dependent.

If I do have type 1.5, my endo has said that he thinks I may be able to go without insulin for a while if my blood sugar levels remain stable. I read on Diabetes Network that on average insulin is needed in half of people with type 1.5 within four years of diagnosis. I’m trying to take things day by day and not think about that four-year average…but that’s often easier said than done.

Leave a Reply

