Feeling Thankful On My Birthday

Yesterday was a hard day. I’d been pretty positive and upbeat the past couple of months, but yesterday really got to me. Being one day shy of my birthday, I started thinking about my age and my future and had a serious, slap in the face realization that I will be living with this disease everyday for the rest of my life. I was angry that diabetes chose me and that I didn’t have any say it, and angry that I took such good care of myself only to have my body turn against me. 
 
I’m still a little angry (I guess that doesn’t go away overnight), but today I’m mostly thankful. I’m so fortunate to have great friends, family members, coworkers and a boyfriend who helped make my birthday so special. And I’m thankful that these people have supported me the past couple of months through all of my highs and lows. While there certainly will be challenges in the days ahead, I feel blessed that I have wonderful people in my life who give me strength everyday.

4 responses to “Feeling Thankful On My Birthday

  1. Love you Kate! This is a fantastic blog. I will be a regular here; you are in my Google Reader! Hugs.

  2. Hey Katie!!

    Thanks for sharing your blog with me. It sounds like you’ve found a lot of good resources so far and I’m glad to that your levels are steadying. Good job!!

  3. Happy belated birthday!

    Even after 30 years for me, I sometimes go through cycles of being angry and stuff. Maybe that is normal? I don’t know. In fact, I often go through cycles of many of the grief emotions.

    I think it helps to blog about them. It helps me put words to the vague feelings, which seems to make me feel better.

Leave a Reply

