Loathing My Mailbox

Did you know Cedars Sinai charges $7 for one blood glucose reading? I was fortunate enough to learn that when I opened my latest medical bill.

I used to love checking my mail. I’d look forward to an envelope full of recipes and a post-it note letter from my mom, or a postcard from my sister on her latest international adventure. I’d get excited to page through my latest issue of Newsweek or Cooking Light.

Now I dread opening that little box. For the past month, I’ve received one medical bill after another. Bills for appointments and lab tests (lots and lots of lab tests)….and yes, even that bill for a $7 blood glucose reading.

I’m thinking of mailing myself daily affirmations.

Leave a Reply

