Diabetes Blog Week: Diabetes Life Hacks

DBlogWeek2014

It’s day five of Diabetes Blog Week (and holy cow, I’ve blogged every day this week!). The prompt is:

Share the (non-medical) tips and tricks that help you in the day-to-day management of diabetes.  Tell us everything from clothing modifications, serving size/carb counting tricks to the tried and true Dexcom-in-a-glass trick or the “secret” to turning on a Medtronic pump’s backlight when not on the home-screen (scroll to the bottom of this post). Please remember to give non-medical advice only!

This is a particularly timely prompt given that I am planning my wedding and figuring out where to wear my insulin pump on the big day. I have a meter remote, which means I can bolus insulin without pulling out my pump (an amazing feature when wearing dresses). I’ll likely wear it on a thigh pouch with Spanx on top to keep everything in place.

As for other tips and tricks, here are a few things I do day-to-day:

  • I have the CalorieKing app on my phone and always look up the carb count of a food I’m unsure about.
  • When I’m at home, I measure my food. It’s a pain, but it makes it a heck of a lot easier to get the insulin dose right.
  • When I make a recipe for something that doesn’t include nutritional facts I often use a nutrition calculator to figure out the carb count.
  • I drink a glass of red wine when I have a slice of pizza (one of the trickiest foods for someone with a defunct pancreas). Red wine has a lowering effect on my blood sugar and seems to decrease the inevitable spike.
  • I carry an extra infusion set with me at all times in case of a mishap. I recently ripped out a set on a tight airport layover and was thankful I had another in my handbag.
  • I bake all kinds of things with almond flour. It’s low-glycemic, high in protein and fiber, and tastes delicious.

***Check out other Diabetes Blog Week day five entries here.

8 responses to “Diabetes Blog Week: Diabetes Life Hacks

  1. I’ve been looking for the calculator you linked to—thanks! When we were diagnosed someone sent it to me, and I did not understand the value or remember how to find it. There are a few dud ones. Or anyway ones I can’t figure out how to use.

    I look forward to introducing your red wine pizza hack to my child in a few, ten, years.

  2. Loving the red wine + pizza hack! Gotta check that one out!

  3. I find your red wine + pizza hack intresting

  4. Oh I love the pizza and wine hack as well1 I can’t wait to try that one out :)

  5. Pingback: DBW #7 I Like | Bigfoot Child Have Diabetes

Leave a Reply

