Diabetes Blog Week: Change the World

Image

Nothing gives me the kick in the pants to blog like Diabetes Blog Week. I’ve been thinking about writing for months, and even set a New Year’s resolution to do so, but clearly haven’t taken action. My hiatus ends now, thanks to Karen Graffeo’s fifth annual organized blog event.

Don’t know what Diabetes Blog Week is? Learn more here. You can also check out my posts from the past four years: 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013.

The prompt for day one states:

Let’s kick off Diabetes Blog Week by talking about the diabetes causes and issues that really get us fired up…Whether or not you “formally” advocate for any cause, share the issues that are important to you.

I’m going to go big here. The issue that gets me fired up is finding a cure for type 1 diabetes. No more finger pricks, carb counts, insulin, highs, lows, new diagnoses – these are the things I dream of and fight for.

I may not be the one in the lab conducting groundbreaking research, but I educate and advocate in hopes of making a difference. I teach others what type 1 diabetes is, aiming to break through the misconceptions that surround it. I advocate for everything from research funding to better management tools through JDRF, an organization with muscle power behind it. I take part in things like Diabetes Blog Week, along with hundreds of others, to share my experience and raise awareness of the disease.

I often feel like I’m not doing enough and know there are plenty of times I could do more. But I hope that every little thing I am able to do leads us one step closer to a cure. Now that would really change the world!

***Check out other Diabetes Blog Week day one entries here.

5 responses to “Diabetes Blog Week: Change the World

  1. Welcome back! :)

  2. Pingback: My Best of Seven (Days) | inDpendence

Leave a Reply

