Diabetes Blog Week Day 5: Freaky Friday

Diabetes Blog Week 2013

Just like in the movie, today we’re doing a swap. If you could switch chronic diseases, which one would you choose to deal with instead of diabetes? And while we’re considering other chronic conditions, do you think your participation in the DOC has affected how you treat friends and acquaintances with other medical conditions?

I have been thinking about this topic all week, but still have come up empty. I can’t think of another chronic disease I’d like to deal with instead of diabetes. That’s not to say I choose diabetes. I just know that I don’t know enough to say something else would be less scary/constant/expensive/energy draining.

If anything, this prompt reminded me of the things I have in common with anyone with a chronic disease. We share many of the same daily challenges: the constant focus on health, worry about the future, struggle with insurance, and general exhaustion. We also share courage and strength that we likely didn’t know existed pre-diagnosis.

What would make Freaky Friday really incredible is if everyone with a chronic condition could be free of it for one day…a 24-hour vacation of pure, disease-free bliss. I would soak in every second of that day, eating without thinking about blood sugar, exercising without fearing a low, and leaving the house without any diabetes supplies in tow.

One response to “Diabetes Blog Week Day 5: Freaky Friday

  1. That’s a day I’d sign up for! :-)

Leave a Reply

