Diabetes Blog Week Day 4: Accomplishments Big and Small

Diabetes Blog Week 2013

We don’t always realize it, but each one of us had come a long way since diabetes first came into our life. It doesn’t matter if it’s been 5 weeks, 5 years or 50 years, you’ve done something outstanding diabetes-wise. So today let’s share the greatest accomplishment you’ve made in terms of dealing with your (or your loved one’s) diabetes. No accomplishment is too big or too small…

My last three posts focused on negative aspects of diabetes, so today I’m glad to be writing about something positive. I’ve been living with diabetes since January 2010 and come a long way since that time. Below are a few diabetes-related things I’m proud of. I don’t know if they’re necessarily accomplishments, but they’re certainly positive things that have emerged from my life with D.

1. I no longer pass out every time I’m poked with a needle. Having blood work done every quarter and giving myself shots multiple times a day took care of that.

2. I have refused to let diabetes get in the way of exercise. I knew working out would be trickier the moment I started insulin, but haven’t let it stop me. That doesn’t mean the fear isn’t there, but I’ve focused on being prepared and learning as I go. I always have my meter and glucose tabs on me, and have frequent conversations with my endocrinologist about exercise-related adjustments.

3. I have found joy in food. Living with diabetes equals a challenging relationship with food. Despite those challenges, my love for cooking and eating has remained, or even grown. I’ve channeled my passion into many kitchen experiments, finding happiness in creating delicious low-glycemic dishes, like double chocolate cookies and baked oatmeal.

3 responses to “Diabetes Blog Week Day 4: Accomplishments Big and Small

  1. True, True, and True!

Leave a Reply

