It’s Time for Insulin

I’ve been ignoring my blog lately. Heck, I’ve been ignoring social media in general lately. Part of the reason is that life has been kind of crazy. In the past few months, I completed my grad program in Boston, moved back to Los Angeles and started a new job. In between those major life changes, I dealt with what felt like a never-ending list of logistical details. You know, little things like trying desperately, but failing, to get health insurance coverage after my student plan expired. (Thankfully my new job came with insurance, so I ended up only being without for a little over a month.)

The other (main) reason as to why I’ve been so silent online though, is that I didn’t know what to say. I knew my diabetes had taken a turn for the worse and I was freaked out. Freaked out because as someone with slow onset type 1, I knew it was time for insulin. But I also knew that until I had health insurance again and could see a new endocrinologist, there was little I could do about it. So, I tested like crazy, medicated like crazy, avoided carbs like crazy, and tried not to panic as my blood sugar levels rose.

When I was finally able to see an endocrinologist, she confirmed what I already knew: the oral meds were no longer working and I needed insulin. It’s strange because I always knew this was the inevitable outcome. I had almost three years to adjust to the idea. And yet, in so many ways, I feel like I’ve just been diagnosed all over again.

15 responses to “It’s Time for Insulin

  1. I started feeling so very, very much better once I started using insulin. And yes, it’s like starting over. But it’s good!

  2. Sorry to hear about this change, but like everything else you will adjust and get used to whats required to go on. I’m pretty sure that eventually I’ll be in the same position, going on one year now since diagnosis and about 7 months of that without insulin.

  3. Hang in there Katie! Change is hard, and with all you’ve had going on, you’ve had a lot of hard change to cope with!

  4. Jenifer M. Hernandez

    You’re not alone. I went on insulin about 2 years ago – first slow acting Lantus and then to fast acting Novolog. I have more choices in food, though still careful, and blood sugar is better controlled – except for some out of whack instances. When I went on insulin, I felt vulnerable and depressed. I had no idea why this was happening to me – no family history, thin, ate well and exercised and now this…Anyway, I got over it, it is was it is, deal with and move on.

  5. Katie! Sending you hugs from Beantown. This is a tough transition, but you have all our love and support, and as Colleen mentioned, you’ll be feeling better soon– which is of utmost importance. Let me know if you need ANYTHING!

  6. Sounds like you’re being very brave. I’ve not been in your place (T1 for 28 years), but I’m glad to hear you’re taking the bull by the horns and doing the best thing for your health.

    Also, welcome to LA! I’m an Angeleno as well – glad to have more friendly D faces on the left coast. Feel free to reach out if you need anything. :)

  7. Pingback: | Best Betes Blogs

  8. Pingback: Diabetes Blog Week Day 3: Memories | 1LittlePrick

Leave a Reply

