Sam Talbot Cooks for Me: Shirataki Noodles with Cashews and Chiles

A couple of months back, I submitted a post for consideration in chef Sam Talbot’s blogger contest. In my entry, I gushed about my love for his cookbook, The Sweet Life, which is full of delicious low-glycemic recipes. So imagine the smile on my face a few weeks back when I found out that I was selected as the contest’s grand prize winner! After doing a victory lap around my little apartment, I waited patiently for my prize – a signed cookbook and personalized cooking demo from Sam (I think it’s safe to assume we’re on a first name basis now).

I received the demo video last week and was excited to see that in it Sam prepares his shirataki noodles with cashews and chiles. (He and I are clearly on the same wavelength – I’ve been eyeing that recipe for weeks.) The video is so much fun! Sam walks through the recipe step-by-step in his tiny purple New York kitchen. His adorable dog even makes an appearance.

I’m planning to make this dish in the next few days (I already have the shirataki noodles in my fridge), and will write about how in turns out. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the video as much as I do!

18 responses to “Sam Talbot Cooks for Me: Shirataki Noodles with Cashews and Chiles

  1. Wow!! Congrads. I bought his book and luv it. Some of the ingredients are a little pricey tho or hard to find. But, think he’s the bomb.

    I was going to enter that contest! lol Have fun and I’ll be sure to check it all out. Im newly diagnose type 1 in 9/2010 at 48 yrs old and and just learning al the ins and outs so need as much help as possible.

  2. Hey Katie! Congrats on the win! I always loved seeing Sam’s food on Top Chef – so cool that you a personal demo! Great blog… Hope things are working out for you in Boston! Sorry we didn’t see you more out here! Take care!

  3. Loved your recipe shirataki noodles with cashews and chiles. I am going to try this recipe this week and use Miracle Noodles without any tofu and calorie free..Amazing how much Sam accomplishes in his unique tiny apartment kitchen:) His pup also so special! Hope he enjoyed some as a treat too! Thank you for posting.

  4. Ooohhh, how awesome that you won! Congratulations. He is one handsome diabetic cook! ;)

  5. Really love your site. Being diabetic myself, I love the name.

  6. Pingback: Blog Contest Winner Recipe Demo Posted

  7. Congratulations, Katie! This recipe looks amazing – keep up all the inspiring work!

  8. I love u Sam!

  9. Im so making ghis dish now lol : )

  10. Dish i hit send too quick sorry!

  11. Pingback: Not Strangers – Friends I Haven’t Met Yet | Moments of Wonderful

  12. Pingback: Diabetes Blog Week Day 3: Memories | 1LittlePrick

Leave a Reply

